In a 1968 sermon in Atlanta titled “The Drum Major Instinct”, Dr. King stated “Yes, if you want to say I was a drum major, say that I was a drum major for justice. Say that I was a drum major for peace. I was a drum major for righteousness”. We want to recognize individuals who embody Dr. King’s words and work.

We will uplift members of the WashU Medicine community, from every corner, who (perhaps without fanfare) may be leading community-wide service projects, who may be serving as mentors and/or who embody what it is to be an upstander, by standing up for others in the face of injustices or inequitable treatment. The Drum Major Awards will recognize individuals at WashU School of Medicine who embody what it means to be an upstander. Awardees should be those who speak up or act in support of an individual or cause, particularly someone who intervenes on behalf of a person being bullied or attacked. Upstanders are people who speak and act against injustices, and represent the best of humanity today across the School of Medicine. They harness their character strengths to meet their moment and pursue justice, both great and small, inspiring others to do the same.

If awarded, your nomination will be sent directly to the person you nominated as well as to their supervisor. Similarly, awardees will be honored during the MLK Commemoration Week WashU Medicine DEI Update on Tuesday, January 16th, 2024.

We invite you to nominate a member of the WashU Medicine community for the Drum Major Awards. Please fill out the form below no later than January 14th, 2024 at 11:59pm (CDT). Please email with questions or concerns. 

Congratulations to our 2024 awardees!

  • Enyo Ablordeppey
  • Lina Mohammed Ali
  • Lindsay Bandy
  • Andrea Barbata
  • Wumei Blanche
  • Jacco Boon
  • Floyd Boykin
  • Paola Cepeda
  • Marissa B. Hardwrict
  • Erin Herrera
  • Lawrence Hudson-Lewis
  • Lissy Keller
  • Jennifer Lawrence
  • Brett Maricque
  • Kerri Morgan
  • Ilana Olin
  • Jessica Pittman
  • Aileen Portugal
  • Jessica Randolph
  • Noor Riaz
  • Jim Skeath
  • Cynthia Williams
  • Keisha Windham

Three-time nominee:

  • Nwanneoma (Neena) Ngonadi

Two-time nominees:

  • Anthony Dao
  • Cynthia Herrick
  • Christine Pham
  • Jasvindar Singh